SANTA MONICA-MALIBU UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

FACILITY IMPROVEMENT PROJECTS (FIP)




Our Team



District Staff

Carey Upton
Interim Director of Facility Improvement Projects
(310) 450-8338 x 79383
cupton@smmusd.org
Ashraf Khimani
Accountant
(310) 450-8338 x 79382
akhimani@smmusd.org
Kathy Staib
Administrative Assistant
(310) 450-8338 x 79380
kstaib@smmusd.org
Jason Dodd
Facility Technician
(310) 450-8338 x 79374
jdodd@smmusd.org
Denise Smith
Office Specialist
(310) 450-8338 x 79384
denisesmith@smmusd.org



Construction And Program Management Staff

Steve Massetti
Bond Manager Consultant
(310) 450-8338 x79389
smassetti@smmusd.org

Kevin Klaus
Deputy Program Manager, Consultant
(310) 450-8338 x79372
kklaus@smmusd.org
Rodrigo Donoso: Rodrigo Donoso, an independent consultant, serves as a Project Coordinator for the FIP Office. He manages program and document controls and the administration of the FIP Office program management software. His professional background includes work for the Los Angeles Unified School District, Partnerships to Uplift Communities, and the Galef Institute. He is also a Microsoft Certified System Engineer. Rodrigo is an SMMUSD alumnus, having attended John Muir Elementary, and is a Santa Monica resident. He joined the FIP Office in May 2010. His favorite aspect of the Measure BB program is the sustainability that is being incorporated throughout the modernization and new construction projects.

Rodrigo Donoso
Project Coordinator, Consultant
Independent Consultant
(310) 450-8338 x 79381
rdonoso@smmusd.org





Veronica Perez: Veronica Perez, a consultant through Simpson & Simpson, serves as the Construction Clerk for the FIP Office. Veronica supports the Project Managers and maintains various constructions records. Her professional background includes work as a project assistant on the LA County General Hospital construction projects. Veronica joined the FIP Office in September 2012. Her favorite aspect of the Measure BB program is being a part of a program that is providing students with a healthier environment and a better future.

Veronica Perez
a consultant through Simpson & Simpson
serves as the Construction Clerk for Chris Emmett
(310) 450-8338 x 79370
vperez@smmusd.org




Procurement

Sheere Bishop: Sheere Bishop, a consultant through Parsons/CCM, serves as the Procurement Manager for the FIP Office. She oversees all project bidding and Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment (FF & E). Her professional background includes work for the Riverside County Transportation Commission, New Model Colony LLC, the Chino Valley Unified School District, and Disney’s California Adventure Theme Park. She joined the FIP Office in February 2009. Her favorite aspect of the Measure BB program is working with the project teams and community members throughout the duration of the projects.

Sheere Bishop
Director of Procurement and Contract Management
(310) 450-8338 x 79385
smbishop@smmusd.org




Construction Management Team

Edison Language Academy

Jim Stroing: Jim Stroing, a consultant through Parsons/CCM, serves as the Construction Manager at the Edison Language Academy. He assists the Senior Project Manager with overseeing the construction activities performed by the contractor from the beginning to the end of the project. His professional background includes over 12 years of construction experience, including work at Placentia-Yorba Linda, Chaffey Community College–Chino Campus, and San Bernadino Community College District. Jim joined the FIP Office in June 2010. His favorite aspect of the Measure BB program is being a part of creating new learning facilities for the students, staff, and families of the district.

Jim Stroing
Construction Manager, Consultant
Parsons/CCM
(310) 237-3086
jstroing@smmusd.org
Jason Dodd
Facility Technician
(310) 450-8338 x 79374
jdodd@smmusd.org



Juan Cabrillo, Grant, and Roosevelt Elementary Schools

Jason Dodd
Facility Technician
(310) 450-8338 x 79374
jdodd@smmusd.org
Chris Emmett
Project Manager, Consultant
Simpson & Simpson
(310) 450-8338 x 79371
cemmett@smmusd.org



Malibu Middle/High School

Roger Banuelos
Senior Project Manager,
Consultant
Element Consulting
rbanuelos@smmusd.org
Nelson Martinez
Construction Manager
Element Consulting
n.martinez@smmusd.org



Olympic High School

Albert Ortega: Albert Ortega, a consultant through Parsons/CCM, serves as a Project Engineer for Olympic High School. Albert supports the construction manager by coordinating the site team, documentation, site activities, overseeing contractor billing and design review, and preparing mini scope packages for bid. His professional background includes construction management on several projects for the Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District. Albert joined the FIP Office in November 2011. His favorite aspect of the Measure BB program is the constant challenge to improve every effort made through all Measure BB projects.

Albert Ortega
Construction Manager, Consultant
Parsons/CCM
(310) 450-8338 x 79376
aortega@smmusd.org




Santa Monica High School

Gary Bolin: Gary Bolin, a consultant through Parsons/CCM, serves as a Senior Construction Manager for Samohi. He supports project management teams and assists in overseeing the construction activities performed by the contractor from the beginning to the end of the projects. His professional background includes construction experience in building data centers, school facilities, and military projects. Gary joined the FIP Office in January 2014. His favorite aspect of the Measure BB program is brining construction innovation and new technology to the community.

Gary Bolin
Senior Construction Manager, Consultant
Parsons/CCM
(310) 450-8338 x 79394
gbolin@smmusd.org
Jason Dodd
Facility Technician
(310) 450-8338 x 79374
jdodd@smmusd.org







SMMUSD I SMMUSD Web Mail I FIP Timesheet I COMPASS